CECAFA Challenge Cup kicks off Nov 24 in Kampala

THE 2012 Cecafa Challenge Cup in Kampala will kick off on November 24 and the final is set for December 8 at the Nelson Mandela Stadium in Namboole.

Sponsors East African Breweries Limited [EABL], through their flagship brand, Tusker Lager, on Tuesday morning announced the countdown to the championship and a $450,000 [Sh38 million] grant to the event.

At a breakfast function at the at Serena Hotel in Kampala, Lemmy Mutahi the EABL (Uganda) Marketing Director, handed the cheque to Nicholas Musonye, the Cecafa secretary general.

Mutahi said the staging of this year?s Challenge Cup for the Council of East and Central Africa Football Associations nations had a special significance.

EABL are renowned sponsors of regional football who recently took sponsorship of the Kenyan national men’s football team and the Kenyan Premier League. Through its subsidiary, Uganda Breweries, they also sponsor the Uganda Soccer League [USL].

Mutahi said EABL was supporting the event, so that hopefully, Cecafa would prepare a team that will make it to the 2014 Fifa World Cup in Brazil.

He said EABL were happy to stage the event in Uganda — which for the past two years was held in Tanzania — and that was why they had increased the cash grant by 5%.

Musonye said that from the sponsorship, Cecafa would be able to fly teams into and from Uganda and comfortably accommodate them.

At the launch, the Fufa [Federation of Uganda Football Association] local organising committee were present. Later, Musonye held talks with the Uganda State Minister for Sports, Charles Bakabulindi in his office.

The minister pledged to support Cecafa and Fufa to organise a successful event.

The total prize money is $60,000 [Sh5.1m] and the winning team will earn Sh2.5m, the runners-up [Sh1.7m] and the bronze medalist Sh850,000.

All matches with be broadcast “live” on SuperSport television.

The total number of Cecafa countries increased recently when newly independent South Sudan were admitted. The country took part in a Cecafa competition for the first time at the Cecafa Kagame Club Cup in Tanzania last month.

Cecafa member nations are:

1. Burundi

2. Djibouti

3. Eritrea

4. Ethiopia

5. Kenya

6. Rwanda

7. Somali

8. South Sudan

9. Sudan

10. Tanzania [Mainland]

11. Uganda

12. Zanzibar [Tanzania]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here